Find A…


Get News by RSS

Follow us on social media for all the latest news and updates:

Dunlop National Racketball Championships 2013 Finals Day

Posted: 01.07.13


A changing of the guard at the Dunlop National Racketball Championships.

Players and spectators alike enjoyed a thrilling weekend of top quality racketball in superb surroundings at The Dunlop National Racketball Championships which took place at the newly refurbished Edgbaston Priory Club in Birmingham last weekend.

The Men’s Championship went according to the seedings until the later stages. The first upset was in the bottom half of the draw when despite losing the first game Ted Jeal (Kent) took out the no. 2 seed Dominic Hamilton (Yorkshire) 3-1 in the semi- final. In the top half of draw newcomer to the event Jaymie Haycocks (Shropshire) had signalled his intent when he beat 3 / 4 seed Nick Mulvey (Hertfordshire) 3-0 in just 35 minutes in the quarter final to set up a semi-final encounter with reigning champion Tim Vail (Sussex) aiming for his 3rd successive and 6th title over-all. His good form continued in the semi and he took a 2-0 lead. Vail battled back to take the 3rd, but the effort had sapped his strength and Haycocks booked his place in the Final wining 3-1 in just over an hour. Jeal may have hoped that Haycocks’ longer semi had taken its toll, but Haycocks once again showed his strength and skill in the final winning 11-2, 11-7, 11-6 in just 30 minutes to clinch the Ian Wright Memorial Trophy and his inaugural title.

In the Women’s Championship, the favourite and no 1 seed Claire Walker (Yorkshire) lost the first game of her semi-final against 3 / 4 seed Matilda Parslow 11-13, but powered back to win the next 3 games and book her place in the final, where she would meet club and county team mate Paula Arrowsmith (Yorkshire) who used all her experience to overcome 2nd seed Rhianne O’Donnell (Somerset) 3-2 after being 2-1 down. Walker was simply too powerful for Arrowsmith in the Final and took her first Women’s crown 11-4 11-3 11-4 in just 14 minutes.

Walker also successfully defended her WO40 title with a 3-0 win over Sam Mueller (Bucks). Mueller again took the runners up spot in the WO35 Final losing 3-1 to defending Champion Sarah Taylor (Lancashire). Bev Vatcher (Dorset) stopped Lesley Sturgess (Derbyshire) claiming her 5th successive title in the WO45’s beating her 3-0. Runner up in the Women’s Championship Paula Arrowsmith triumphed 3-0 in the WO50 Final denying Lesley Sturgess a 4th crown in this category.

Christine Park (Northumbria) took the WO55 title with Frances Humphreys runner up in a round robin format. Bett Dryhurst (Worcestershire) continued her remarkable winning streak in the championships by claiming the WO60 crown, giving her a possibly unsurpassable 26th title. Linda Smith was runner up in the round robin format

Mike Gregory (Devon) became the new MO40 champion beating Michael Harris (Shropshire) 3-0 however Neil Baldwin’s (Yorkshire) bid for a hat trick of MO45 titles was scuppered by Andy Murray who beat him 3-1. Another new champion Paul Haigh took the MO50 title 3-0 beating Patrick Osborn.

Top seed and home club stalwart Rob Shay beat Peter Scott (Norfolk) 3-2 in the MO55’s, then Ian Graham (Sussex) made it 4 in a row in the MO60 final beating Roy Burns 3-1.
David Scurlock was champion in the MO65’s round robin with Howard Thomson the runner up and Rod Embley took the MO70 title with John Shingler the runner up also in a round robin format.

Finals Results
Women’s Championship
*1 Claire Walker Bt Paula Arrowsmith 11-4 11-3 11-4 in 14m

Men’s Championship
[5/8] Jaymie Haycocks Bt [3/4] Ted Jeal 11-2 11-7 11-6 in 31m

Women’s Over 35 Championship
Sarah Taylor bt Sam Mueller 11-9 12-10 11-7 in 29m

Men’s Over 35 Championship
[3/4] Andy Corben Bt 1 Richard Davies – Walkover to Corben

Women’s Over 40 Championship
Claire Walker bt Sam Mueller 11-6 11-5 11-6 in 25m

Men’s Over 40 Championship
[5/8] Mike Gregory Bt [5/8] Mike Harris 11-8 11-8 11-3 in 22m

Women’s Over 45 Championship
[3/4] Bev Vatcher Bt *1 Lesley Sturgess 11-5 11-6 11-5 in 26m

Men’s Over 45 Championship
Andy Murray Bt *1 Neil Baldwin 8-11 11-9 12-10 11-6 in 50m

Women’s Over 50 Championship
Paula Arrowsmith Bt *1 Lesley Sturgess 11-8 11-6 11-4 in 19m

Men’s Over 50 Championship
[3/4] Paul Haigh Bt *1 Patrick Osborn 11-9 5-11 11-9 11-8 in 42m

Women’s Over 55 Championship
Christine Park Bt Jane Smith 11-7 11-8 11-7 in 18m

Men’s Over 55 Championship
*1 Rob Shay Bt Peter Scott 11-9 6-11 11-4 9-11 11-6 in 57m

Women’s Over 60 Championship
Bett Dryhurst Bt Linda Smith 11-7 11-9 11-3 in 23m

Men’s Over 60 Championship
*1 Ian Graham Bt *2 Roy Burns 11-5 8-11 11-3 11-5 in 53m

Men’s Over 65 Championships
Dave Scurlock bt Howard Thompson 11-4 11-4 11-9 in 21m

Men’s Over 70 Championship
Rod Embley bt John Shingler 11-6 11-5 11-7 in 19m